Friday, March 30, 2012

Davidson Day's Johnson leaves coaching position

Courtesy of Davidson Day
Davidson Day announced Friday that boys' basketball coach Ron Johnson is leaving his post to be an assistant coach at Marist College (N.Y.).

In his three years, Johnson's Davidson Day teams went 75-21 while also reaching the state semifinals this past season. He also had 13 players move on to play Division I basketball. Johnson's last day at the school is April 13.

"My three years at Davidson Day have been some of the most rewarding years I've had as an educator and coach," said Johnson, who also served as the school's dean of student life, in a release.

"The progress that we have been able to make as a total college preparatory independent school has been remarkable. The relationships that I have been able to form with students, parents and colleagues will be ones that I will cherish forever."

According to head of school Bonnie Cotter's release, Davidson Day will undertake a national search for Johnson's replacement.

Thursday, March 22, 2012

I-Meck announces basketball honors

North Mecklenburg's Shivaughn Wiggins and Hopewell's Sharee' Boyd were named the boys' and girls' basketball I-Meck Player of the Year, respectively.

Mallard Creek boys' basketball coach David Rutledge and Hopewell's girls' basketball coach Gary Richmond received I-Meck Coach of the Year honors.

Wiggins averaged 25 points a game to lead his Vikings to a 22-6 record on their way to second-place I-Meck finish, while Boyd, Hopewell's all-time leading scorer, averaged 16 points, seven rebounds, three steals,  three assists and two blocks per game.

Here are the full all-conference honors:

I-Meck girls' basketball all-conference
Bryanna Curry - Hopewell
Brandi Arey - Hough
Anna Diggs - Hough
Julia Brown - Hough
Marrisa Riley - Lake Norman
Amber Neely - Mallard Creek
Nicole Graham - Mallard Creek
Destiny Barrino - North Mecklenburg
Jasmine Bullock - North Mecklenburg
Diamond Foggie - Vance
Gabrielle McClain - West Charlotte
Rachel Porter - West Charlotte
Jessica Gaston - West Charlotte
Zana Tatum - Mooresville

Player of the Year: Sharee' Boyd - Hopewell
Coach of the Year: Gary Richmond - Hopewell

I-Meck boys' basketball all-conference

Tyrone Curry - Hopewell
Luke Maye - Hough
Josh Stepoli - North Meck
Tahjai Watt - North Meck
Bradley Robinson - Mallard Creek
Jamal White - Mallard Creek
Ryan Scott - Lake Norman
Shawn Lester - Mooresville
Dre Howell - Mooresville
Kendrick Johnson - Mooresville
Mike Brown - West Charlotte
Kennedy Meeks - West Charlotte
Derick Brewer - Vance
Caleb Davis -Vance

Player of the Year: Shivaughn Wiggins - North Meck
Coach of the Year: David Rutledge - Mallard Creek