Thursday, March 22, 2012

I-Meck announces basketball honors

North Mecklenburg's Shivaughn Wiggins and Hopewell's Sharee' Boyd were named the boys' and girls' basketball I-Meck Player of the Year, respectively.

Mallard Creek boys' basketball coach David Rutledge and Hopewell's girls' basketball coach Gary Richmond received I-Meck Coach of the Year honors.

Wiggins averaged 25 points a game to lead his Vikings to a 22-6 record on their way to second-place I-Meck finish, while Boyd, Hopewell's all-time leading scorer, averaged 16 points, seven rebounds, three steals,  three assists and two blocks per game.

Here are the full all-conference honors:

I-Meck girls' basketball all-conference
Bryanna Curry - Hopewell
Brandi Arey - Hough
Anna Diggs - Hough
Julia Brown - Hough
Marrisa Riley - Lake Norman
Amber Neely - Mallard Creek
Nicole Graham - Mallard Creek
Destiny Barrino - North Mecklenburg
Jasmine Bullock - North Mecklenburg
Diamond Foggie - Vance
Gabrielle McClain - West Charlotte
Rachel Porter - West Charlotte
Jessica Gaston - West Charlotte
Zana Tatum - Mooresville

Player of the Year: Sharee' Boyd - Hopewell
Coach of the Year: Gary Richmond - Hopewell

I-Meck boys' basketball all-conference

Tyrone Curry - Hopewell
Luke Maye - Hough
Josh Stepoli - North Meck
Tahjai Watt - North Meck
Bradley Robinson - Mallard Creek
Jamal White - Mallard Creek
Ryan Scott - Lake Norman
Shawn Lester - Mooresville
Dre Howell - Mooresville
Kendrick Johnson - Mooresville
Mike Brown - West Charlotte
Kennedy Meeks - West Charlotte
Derick Brewer - Vance
Caleb Davis -Vance

Player of the Year: Shivaughn Wiggins - North Meck
Coach of the Year: David Rutledge - Mallard Creek


Anonymous said...

Coach Terry of West Charlotte wins the conference and the conference tourney and he gets no recognition " Again". Last season he won it ALL, conference, confernence tourney and the state championship and for the 2nd year he gets NO recognition. Interesting but not surprising.