Monday, June 3, 2013

Husky, Wildcat named lacrosse All-Americans

Lake Norman's Kyle Gradert and Hough's Mike Hart were named All-Americans by the state's coaches.

Gradert, a senior defender/long-stick midfielder, was also named Conference 10 Player of the Year.

Here is the complete All-Conference boys' lacrosse team:

First team
Goalie: Michael Clark- LN Charter
Defenders: Kyle Gradert- Lake Norman, Randall Hassell- LN Charter, Ian Radcliff- Lake Norman
LSM: Brendan McCarthy- Lake Norman
Midfielders: Mike Hart- Hough, Matt Kos-Lake Norman, Hudson Harris- LN Charter, Brendan Friss- Mooresville, Shane Gottenberg- Lake Norman(Face-off specialist)
Attackers: Petey Fabian- LN Charter, Bryan Kos- Lake Norman, Josh Ford- LN Charter

Second team
Goalie: Perrin Robinson- Lake Norman
Defenders: Truman Spittell- LN Charter, JD Bunch- Lake Norman, Frankie Walsh- Hough
LSM: Griffin Stechmiller- LN Charter
Midfielders: Robert Berry- Mooresville, Eddie Hendrickson- Lake Norman, Jake Nanney- Lake Norman, Connor Wilson- Hopewell
Attackers: Eric Koehler- Lake Norman, Luke Koferl- LN Charter, Joey Ruggerio- Hough

Honorable mention
Goalie: Robert Odom- A.L. Brown
LSM: Josh Shipman- Hopewell
Midfielders: Joseph Clontz- A.L. Brown
Attackers: Jonathan Oracion-Hough

Player of the Year: Kyler Gradert, Lake Norman

Coach of the Year: Matt Wiehl, LN Charter